The by far most common question I get from people on the streets, that I don’t know, is this: “Is that your real hair?”. After that usually some follow up questions… I guess it’s a ice-breaker but it’s getting darn old… So I thought I write a FAQ about my hair.

Is that your real hair?
– Of course it is, what did you expect? Me using some kind of a stone-age-wig?

Do you use hair extenders?
– No… I didn’t even know that was possible, but apparently you can make your hair longer by some kind of the black magic that are going on in haircutting studios…

Your hair must be very dirty.. and variations of that
– Well possibly, but I do wash it… I don’t quite like to have dirty hair…

How do you wash that hair?
– Kind of like you would wash a sponge, I try to not use shampoo that contains silicone (silicone is what sticks to the surface of your hair and makes it look shiny and “clean”), and I don’t want perfumes and unnecessary chemicals, I quite like baby shampoo…

How long does it take to dry?
– To stop dripping about an hour, to be really dry about 6 hours or sometimes more.

Why did you make that hair?
I kind of wanted longer hair, I had short hair for the first 30 years of my life and wanted to do something different… My hair is really curly and i untangled it every day the first weeks and then I kind of just gave up and let it free…

How did you make that hair?
– Actually I didn’t do anything at all… I decided to let it grow longer when I lived and studied in Karis, in southern Finland, the water there was much harder then the water up here and it really just happened… (it was over 5 years ago though)

Follow up question: So you didn’t wash it…
– I wish I would get rid of that idea… If you don’t wash your hair it becomes slippery and does NOT clump together…

Are you planning to cut it off?
– Yes eventually, sometimes I like it and sometimes it’s just really much in my eyes and annoying… The thing is that it took 5 years to get this long dreads and cutting them is a big decision…

